Finales, finales

I don’t follow too many tv series but as of tonight, two of my favorite shows come to an end: 24 and Lost. Also the season finale of House. POSSIBLE SPOILERS BE WARNED!

Let’s start with Lost.

The finale is most definitely a hate-it-or-love-it ending. For those emotional ones who are as attached to the characters as rice on beans it was the perfect ending: everyone together, moving on, Jack closing his eye, happily ever after (literally). For those who actually cared about solving all the mysteries it was the worst ending EVER. Sure, we know where the black rock came from. We know about the history of the island. We know fake John Locke is the smoke monster. We know the lingering souls are the whispers, but, what about the numbers? What about the lighthouse? What about the Dharma Initiative? What about Walt? What the heck happened to him? You get the idea, I could go on and on for another six seasons if I wanted to (okay maybe not, five at most). I was expecting a lot more from the show. Ever since the first episode of the final season the drama has been building up and up and the show had the audience thinking about an all out war, between Jacob and his candidates and Fake Locke with his followers, between good and evil. Come on, what’s the point about the whole keeping the wine (evil) contained in the glass with the cork (the island), we don’t even know what the island really is. What are these “rules”? Why all the splitting up and picking sides? These are all up for interpretations and we’ll never really know. I do have to admit it was very well filmed. My eyes did get watery seeing the scene of Sun and Jin dying. Seeing Charlie dying. That was about it. I’m glad I don’t have to obsess about it anymore. Looking up every reference they make. Every book they mentioned. Every damn single connection (actually I stopped doing that after the second season, it was too much). So, to sum it all up, Lost was, is and will be one of the most intriguing and complicated show that TV has seen in decades. The following video sums it up.

College Humor Lost Unanswered Questions

Now onto 24.

It all went downhill when Jack stopped and listened to Chloe and didn’t shoot the Russian bastard and damn Logan in their office. I’m certain Jack would have done it if it weren’t for the need to move 24 to the big screen. I should have listened to my friend and should have stopped watching it after the, well first season. But no, my obsession got the best of me. So, this finale pretty much sets up the plot for the movie to be released in 2012. Jack is a fugitive again, except this time he’s running from, well I wouldn’t put it that way, Jack doesn’t run from anything, so let’s just say he’s on haitus, going incognito for a while, because 60% of the world will be looking for him after what he did his final “day”. Point is, how sweet was it in last week’s episode when darth vader armored Jack took over and owned the shit out of Logan? Savagely killing guards after guards, torturing the crap out of the one who killed Rene. No, the ending had to be emotional again with Chloe crying her eyes out and Jack asking Chloe to keep Kim and her family save. Why can’t they end it with a BOOM and a BAM Jack against the world kind of thing? It’s an action thriller for crying out loud. It’s not that I’m insensitive. I’m emotional; I listen to love songs; I watched Titanic but come on, this is Jack Bauer we’re talking about. How many dark places has he been in? How many people did he kill in 8 days plus that little redemption tv short? Biting off Pillar’s ear wasn’t that great either. Jack killed a man by biting into that man’s throat. Biting off an ear is like eating beans for Jack. And where the heck was Tony? Wasn’t he arrested last season finale? He ain’t dead so he shoulda been around. He shoulda been the one who helps Jack, okay, even though the good Tony bad Tony storyline was a bit much, but I stand by my point. So, I’m happy to say that I won’t be watching the movie (I’m sure), and though the finale wasn’t satisfying (to me), it’s still one of the most innovative and daring shows considering season one debuted right after 9/11. Kudos to Jack.

Finally, House.

It’s the only show that I can use the word “LOVE”. The finale was awesome. Fits the story perfectly. The whole season building up to that one moment. There will be another season I’m sure since 13 leaves us hanging in the dark about her resignation. It’s the only show left for me that I’m positive I won’t be disappointed (hopefully I’m not jinxing it). I thought House was really going back on drugs again and it was very depressing, but Cuddy saves the day. Not much else to say. Just watch it.

Leave a Reply

